Skip navigation

It started out with a call from a tenant, saying he was awakened by a loud crash about 1 AM on Wednesday. “Big hole in the block wall of the house”.

Yow!

Apparently, some guy in a stolen vehicle creamed said vehicle into the corner of the block wall surrounding the place. The guy was lucky enough to have airbags save his sorry life, and someone else with a car nearby to jump into and leave the scene.
It’s a complete tear-down and rebuild. So it goes.

I think the guy must have been doing at least 40 MPH to do this.
These are the times you’re glad you’ve been making insurance payments all these years, I guess.

The other interesting thing occurred just after dinner, when I was relaxing on the porch at the Ranch.

There are cries for help coming from the desert West of here. Cries that sounded like I should check them out.
After about a 500 yard trek in the dark, I come upon a caucasian male, pleading into his cellphone to 911 to be rescued. He’s badly confused, can’t tell me his name, how he got here, or much else.
I got him to hand me his phone, and started the process of guiding the Pima County Sheriff’s Department to our location.
In light of the fact we’re standing in a cul-de-sac, at the end of an economically failed gated community, the deputies can’t just drive to our location. And I wasn’t ready to take this poor guy overland to the nearest place that they could drive to, so I told them to park up at the entrance to the area, and started trying to get the guy to follow me.
It’s about a quarter mile of reassurance, wheedling and corrective assistance, because the 911 operator had told him to stay where he was.
“Stay by the X, stay by the X”, he kept insisting. (There’s a large white “X” painted on the center of the cul-de-sac.)
“It’s okay, man, I’m talking to 911 right now, and see those lights ahead? There’s your help.”
“Stay by the X, stay by the X!”

Wow. The man’s not well at all. I was able to keep him “moving towards the light” by letting him hold my left hand, while I kept a close eye on any movements other than his shambling steps.
About 20 minutes later, four sheriff’s deputies and a K9 met us on the dark roadway.
“Stop!”
We stop.
“Tom, step back and away!”
Okay. Back and away it is.
The dog’s going nuts, flashlights blinding both me and the guy, and I’m pretty sure they’ve got weapons drawn on us. I’m glad my dogs stayed home.
“Lie down on the ground!”
Amazingly, the guy complies. Maybe he knows the drill. Handcuffs, a cursory search, and then I get to tell them our story.
I give them my name, address, phone number, etc., and what info I could about the guy, and finally get to make the longish walk back to the Ranch.

I hope the guy’s okay.

Kinda makes the block wall issue seem insignificant in comparison, doesn’t it?

4 Comments

  1. HOLY CRAP !!!!!! The wall- looks like a bit o filler would do it– and the guy ?? well- nicely done good deed for the WEEK !!!!

    • Thanks. It was something, that’s for sure. I’m afraid there’ll be more of these types of instances.

    • You DO have interesting days, don’t you!

  2. Only sometimes, Bob! Usually, it’s pretty boring around here, and I would prefer it that way! 🙂


Leave a Reply

