Skip navigation

With the onslaught of Summer heat, I made the decision to bring Sovereign back up North to Tucson. The drive down to Puerto Penasco was started much too late in the morning, and my truck was selected for a random inspection on the Mexican side of the border. They wanted to see my passport and vehicle registration, and check the contents of my glove box and cooler. Zip, boom, doo-dah, and I’m on my way.

While Safe Marina certainly seems to live up to its moniker, it’s quite a harsh environment for a boat just sitting there on the hard. The boatyard next door is always sandblasting away at rusty steel fishing vessels, filling the air with media.

Not to mention my cockpit.

Image

Sand and pebbles as large as 3/16ths of an inch, everywhere.

The mess was swept up and dumped unceremoniously onto the ground, prior to a good rinse. The jib sheets and halyards were stiff and dirty, and all that abrasion will shorten the working life of your lines considerably.

Philipe helped me drop the mast (Thank you again, sir!), and as the afternoon’s heat grew, my little boat was once again road-worthy.

There was some consternation regarding Mexico’s recent enforcement of its Temporary Import Permit (TIP) law, which resulted in a number of U.S. and Canadian boaters needing to trudge down to wherever they keep their boats in Mexico, and pay a small ransom. Apparently, Puerto Penasco is in the “hassle-free zone”, and I escaped a boat-napping.

The U.S. Border Patrol just took a quick look in the cockpit for who knows what, not even bothering to open up the boat to search for illegal immigrants or anything. Maybe I’ve got an honest face.

So, she’s now back in my own front yard, awaiting a few refurbishments, and the sheets and halyards are getting a much-needed cleaning.

Image

 

 

 

 

I shall return.

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By It’s Always Something | tom's space on 18 Jun 2015 at 8:59 am

    […] trip was not without incident, however. Unlike my previous experience, when crossing into the U.S. this time, the Customs and Border Protection guy in the booth was […]

Leave a Reply

