Skip navigation

Another warm Summer is coming to a close, and the cooler nights are allowing us to limit the AC usage to just a few hours in the afternoon.

My little boat hasn’t been hit by any lightning so far this monsoon season, thankyouverymuch, but I’m still keeping the VHF disconnected.

A bit of keel maintenance is underway, as a small chunk of epoxy was removed during my last haul out back in June.

DSC03354

Some rusty discoloration is peeping through the paint along the upper part of the keel, probably due to the keel’s clunking back and forth and compromising the paint I’d laid on there not too long ago.

DSC03357

It’s a boat.

I’m looking forward to trailering Sovereign back down to Puerto Penasco very soon, but I should take a quick look at the wheel bearings. There’s only about 500 miles on the last bearing job, but it would be cheap insurance.

Oh, yeah, insurance. Got to reinstate the Mexican liability on the boat and vehicles, too. Grumble.

My Detroit Yacht Club-based big sister sent me an email about another boat for sale.

http://www.verywellsalted.com/

She looks to be a very well-built little cruiser, except she’s in Grenada.
It would be an interesting Winter escapade, transiting the Panama canal and then heading Northward along Central America and up into the Sea of Cortez.
Caribbean, anyone?

I was talking to one of the boys down at Safe Marina back in June, and asked him what I might be able to get for Sovereign when I finally do put her up for sale, and he thought “around 20 thousand”. Not bad, considering I’d paid $2,000.00, and have probably put another 2+ into her.

Maybe he meant pesos? 😉

9 Comments

  1. We have to do defiance of lightning here all the time! 🙂 Hope to see you down here in a year or two, huh? (is that how long it takes to take a boat here?)

    • Hi, Kevin, Lisa and Leana!

      Kevin, thanks for the positive waves. I wouldn’t mind getting a bit north of what I paid for her. Hope to see all y’all soon!

      Lisa, I agree. $30,000.00 OBO isn’t at all unreasonable. Thanks again for the thought.

      Leana, Pam’s talking about Costa Rica as a possible home, but the time frame is still out there. Costa Rica’s practically just around the corner from Belize, huh? 🙂

        • Leana
        • Posted September 26, 2015 at 9:36 am
        • Permalink

        Costa Rica is pretty darn close- but I haven’t been there yet…….. Always wanted to go, but it is pretty much the same level of beauty as Belize, so my motivation is gone.

      • We’ll have to make the difficult choice between the Gulf and the Pacific.

        • Leana
        • Posted September 26, 2015 at 9:42 am
        • Permalink

        INDEED !!

  2. Seems like a good price for the one in Granada….and yours, too.

  3. I am glad to see you will back in the water soon. And Varuna is a nice looking vessel – price seems right.

    Yea, I am sure Miguel was talking in pesos, and you can could probably get twice that amount.

  4. Varuna looks great! I vote for Pacific of course. We will stop by on our way back to the boat, probably won’t be until the middle of Oct.


Leave a Reply

