Skip navigation

In the ongoing saga of rental maintenance, I found the need to tear out a bathroom wall or three, plus the bathtub.

dsc04030

A mold issue was the primary motivator, due to leaks that went unreported by our previous tenant. I can understand why the tenant didn’t want to have me over to do a bit of preventive maintenance. It was because he lived like a pig.

dsc03926

dsc03930

Anyway, this wall happens to be a load-bearer, so I had to support the engineered trusses that make up the ceiling/roof structure with those 2x10s I had laying around from another bit of rental work. I lifted up the trusses about an eighth of an inch, allowing me to cut away the old studs, sill and top plates.

This ain’t cabinet making, this is rough carpentry. It required some effort on my part to just let go of precise measuring and joinery.
“The cabinet maker measures to the nearest 1/32 of an inch, the house builder to the nearest 1/8th of an inch, and the boat builder to the nearest boat.”

dsc04037

Today, I’ll finish the plumbing for the tub and shower, and install the approximately 4 sheets of drywall needed to finish the living room and half of the bathroom. The rest of the bathroom will need green board behind the tub and tile areas. Then, rebuild the trashed bath vanity and install a new tub and tile.

Here’s to good tenants!

Update- Difficulties soldering the tub fixture has put off drywalling for one day.

3 Comments

    • Harald Bischoff
    • Posted September 19, 2016 at 1:09 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Hi Tom, will you and your wife be down in Puerto Penasco , MX again this Thanksgiving, just like last year ? Amazing how quickly a year goes by. There is a possibility I will be down there again this year, with my new girlfriend Elizabeth. I am still in contact and am following our Austrian friends Hannes and Sabine on FB. Hope you guys are doing good. Best Regards, Harald (alias Willem Dafoe) :-). Not planning to bring my own Catalina 22 at this time, maybe in the near future.

    • Hi, Harald! It’s entirely possible, but I can’t say with any certainty that we’ll be there. Too many variables, and holidays don’t really figure into the mix. Just being in Mexico is holiday enough for me!

    • Harald Bischoff
    • Posted September 21, 2016 at 11:25 am
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    OK Tom,
    sounds good, no problem,
    we will not loose track.
    My plans are still in the draft version.
    Talk to you soon.

    Harald


Leave a Reply

